Day #2

 

Self-inflicted Pain

She told me, I did too much for you. That I gave you too much importance. I wish I could have ever felt that way.
I always felt I wasn’t doing enough for you. That I needed to do more. Give more, love more, but take less.
She said you took me for granted.
I now realize you did. Because all you did was take. My mind, my body, my soul. And when you were done?
Over the years you hadn’t given anything back, so I was empty. The only thing left was my pain. The pain you were never strong enough to take. You were never strong enough to withstand taking my pain.
Because taking it, would have made it self-inflicted. And that is the most unbearable.

Leave a Reply

