It was the vibe.

The first time I saw her, I knew we would be friends. I hadn’t even spoken to her yet. There was this vibe around her. But even then I didn’t know what a huge impact she would have on me.  Over the years many a time I have wondered to myself whether she made me a better person. Or was I ruined the moment I laid eyes on her? For better or for worse,I would not be the person I am today if not for her.

Olive skinned, with a beautiful black mane that reached her waist, everyone wanted to know her, or be her. She had an aura that calmed you and attracted you to her. You felt like you needed her to like you.  But she wasn’t someone who you could just go up to and introduce yourself to. She had to come to you. When she sat down next to me for the first time, I was hesitant as we made small talk, because I had immediately categorised her into the ‘popular’ crowd who would obviously, never interact with me. I mean I was the quiet girl who always had her nose in a book.

But then I got to know her and I realised she was so much more.She didn’t belong in a ‘category’. She was so complex, I spent years with her and I never fully understood her. The thing is before her, I thought there some things in the world that were wrong and some right. See, she showed me the world wasn’t black and white.

There are infinite shades of grey in between.

Leave a Reply

